Bonus Room Reno – Weeks 2 & 3

November 6, 2011 at 7:58 am Leave a comment

So weeks 2 & 3 and likely 4 (remember we’re weekend warriors!) is all about insulation. Aside from spackle, it’s the worst part of the job but it has to be done, because this room is burrrrrrr cold. It’s also pretty painful to be around – even when wearing the right protective gear. I mean doesn’t this picture alone, just make you itch?

IMG_2138

We started with the ceiling insulation and used 10 rolls of R-30. I’m using “we” loosely, as JD did most of the heavy lifting for this part. I was the helper or “apprentice” as I like to say, because I’m not crawling around on ceiling joists. aint-gonna-happen.

IMG_2144

Then we moved on to the walls, which we’re still working on. We think it’s going to take about 13 rolls of R-13 to finish this sucker.

IMG_2146

So I was actually really surprised how easy putting up the wall insulation was. We simply rolled it out, cut it to the height of the wall, and then stapled it in place…. Botta-bing, Botta-boom.

IMG_2143

So I thought it would be helpful to start tracking our budget for this reno on here. I’m not a good receipt saver – but have luckily saved all 2 Lowes receipts for his project so far. Here’s where we’re at:

  • 12, 2X4X96” Boards = $34.68
  • 16 sheets of 1/2 inch drywall = $111.68
  • 1 big box drywall screws = $21.97
  • 13 bags of R-13 Faced Insulation = $116.35
  • 10 bags of R-30 Insulation = $91.00
  • Quality time spent in a dusty, cold room with my hottie of a hubby = Priceless! (haha, sorry… had to do it guys) 

Total Spent to Date = $375.68

I promise there are much more exciting posts to come on the Bonus Room Reno! I know, I know… what’s more exciting than insulation? Smile

Entry filed under: Renovation. Tags: .

Pinterest Frame Gallery Ten Holiday Gift Ideas

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Welcome to Sweetnest! My name is Jamie and I'm on a mission to make my life and home a bit sweeter, one DIY project at a time.

 

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts