Super Simple Kitchen Chalkboard

September 17, 2011 at 11:48 am 2 comments

The past two weeks have been crazzzzzy town, so I apologize for being a blog slacker. Thank you to those who check in regularly and feel free to remind me that I’ve been slacker-slackystine in the comments. I’ve been working insane hours but on a badass campaign, so I really can’t complain too much. On top of that, we leave for our Italy vacation on Tuesday, so prepare to hear crickets for another two weeks. Although I’m turning my Blackberry O, F, F, I am taking my iPad, so I’ll try to provide a few updates along the trip. 4 days in Florence and 4 days in Rome. ekkkkk! This is our first trip to Europe so I have no idea what to expect. I just know there are several bottles of red wine with my name on em’.

So not only have I been a blog slacker recently, I’ve also been a life/wife/friend slacker. Call me old school, but something I really look forward to every day is sitting down, eating dinner and talking about my day with JD. For 20 minutes, the TV is off, computers are shut, Blackberries are flipped over (so they can’t flash that annoying “look at me!!!” red light) and iPad’s are sleeping. It’s just us… and Bo bugging us for scraps of course. However, with crazy schedules this lovely little timeout sometimes falls through the cracks and before we know it, we’re eating fast food and cereal on the sofa.

Since I’m a die hard list maker (I honestly have a “Life To Do” list), I decided to make a dinner menu list and hang it in the kitchen to keep us on schedule. Since our countertops are black, I thought a chalkboard would look really cool and be super simple to make and update. I was right. I simply took a piece of wood (pretty sure this came from the TV stand turned bench) and spray painted it with chalkboard spray paint. So without further ado, here’s the super simple chalkboard dinner menu…

Chalkboard Menu

We’re in week 2 of this experiment and it’s working brilliantly! As you can see, this week’s menu is so simple, to ensure we stay on track. I definitely recommend making your list obtainable, or it will probably become just a cool chalkboard in your kitchen.

Speaking of cool chalkboards, check these out. The entire wall in this kitchen was turned into a chalkboard and I absolutely LOVE IT. I’m on day 2 of convincing JD that we need this. He’s not quite sold yet. How does that saying go again, “It’s easier to ask for forgiveness than it is to ask for…?” 🙂

 
With our kitchen layout, the chalkboard wall would actually look more like this…

What do you guys think… are chalkboard walls just a trend or timeless? Drop me a line in the comments please 🙂

Entry filed under: Décor.

Thanks Dunphy’s! Ciao Bella Firenze!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie Cousins  |  October 5, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    I think they might just be a trend. But I am wowed by the photo the white kitchen with the chalkboard wall. I would totally love that in my house!

    Reply
  • 2. Blackboard For Kitchen Wall – icrimea  |  September 20, 2019 at 5:05 am

    […] View Image More Like This […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Welcome to Sweetnest! My name is Jamie and I'm on a mission to make my life and home a bit sweeter, one DIY project at a time.

 

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts