Pinterest Frame Gallery

October 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm Leave a comment

So I have to admit that I’m a Pinterest junkie. At least once a day I check out the “Home Decor” and of course the “DIY & Crafts” pins and occasionally wherever the cute baby animals pics live (am I a loser for starting an “Awww” board? ummm that would be a yes!) But as inspired as I am by the insanely unique and talented DIYers out there, I rarely pin stuff… I’m just much more of a re-pinner (is this a word yet?) So when I saw Sherry and Katie’s Pinterest Challenge post over at Young House Love and Bower Power this week, I immediately felt inspired (and challenged!) to start pinning the crap out of some stuff – including projects from yours truly. But since the Bonus Room Renovation sucked up my weekend (ask me how much I hate hanging insulation… I’m still itchy!) and the fact that I have to work on workdays, I was only able to squeeze in one project… but it happens to be something that I learned from Pinterest!

So for years, I’ve wanted to make a frame gallery. I know it’s one of those things that grows with time, but I just had no idea where or how to start it. That is my friends, until I saw this little pin on Pinterest with the caption “A tried and true method”. Perhaps this is something lots of peeps know, but not this gal. So when I saw the paper cutouts arranged on the wall with painters tape, a total light bulb went off. I had a similar reaction the first time someone told me the lyrics/title to one of my favorite Rolling Stones songs was actually “Beast of Burden”… for years I’ve been singing “I wanna be your big suburban…” Makes muuuuuuch more sense, right? 🙂

Another reason I put off hanging a frame gallery was due to the fact that I couldn’t find the “right” frames. So when I saw this 10 piece frame set at Target for $24 bucks, I was sold. I do wish it came with 11×14 frames, but the Dining Room didn’t mind loaning us theirs, especially since it has been rockin’ a hot new coat of grey paint.

So without further ado, here’s how I did it…

I started by arranging the frames on the floor. I must of made 30 different possible designs but landed on this one as I really like the balance of the two 11X14’s.

I then traced the frames on paper. I bought a roll of shipping paper from target for $3, which I totally plan to wrap Christmas presents with too. Just image the fun, funky bow colors you could add to it!!!
DIY Frame Gallery

Since the wall perpendicular to my frame galley also has wall art, I measured its distance from the ceiling to get a good measurement for the height. I know you’re suppose to hang pictures eye level, but since JD and I are giants, this is our eye level.

After hanging all of the cutouts up for the blueprint, I was ready to hammer in some nails! Once the nails were in, I then just removed the paper and hung the frames.
DIY Frame Gallery

TADA…..

Looks itty bitty here, but it’s actually a pretty nice size! I think it adds a modern feel to our super traditional living room. We ❤ reclining sofas though, and not because they look good, but because they are soooooo comfy…so traditional it is 🙂
DIY Frame Gallery

Entry filed under: Décor.

Bonus Room Reno – Week 1 Bonus Room Reno – Weeks 2 & 3

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Welcome to Sweetnest! My name is Jamie and I'm on a mission to make my life and home a bit sweeter, one DIY project at a time.

 

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts