DIY Fall Decor

October 22, 2011 at 11:00 am 2 comments

Picture this – it’s a crisp, fall Saturday morning and you have nothing to do for the next 4 hours. After slowly waking up, you throw on some comfy clothes and mosey your way into the kitchen for a fresh cup of coffee (that you finally remembered to set the timer for!) After a few warm sips, you open a window beside “your spot” on the couch, so the cool fall breeze can slowly make its way in and the scent of a Pumpkin Spice Yankee candle can circulate. You then curl up on the couch and burrow yourself in a fleece blanket…

This is my Saturday morning fall ritual and something I look forward to all week. (super exciting life, huh?) 🙂

And what makes this teeny tiny ritual even more perfect? When I look around and see my home decorated with the colors of my favorite season. I mean how can orange, yellow, red and brown not make you feel warm and cozy inside?

So I totally get that changing your decor seasonally can be expensive… I mean we’re talking new pillows, table settings, art, and even drapes. But with a little imagination and some backyard inspiration, you can create some of those super cozy magazine spreads for next to nothing!

I recently pulled together some of my favorite fall decorating ideas (most from BHG.com) that are all DIY inspired of course!!! I’m even working on a few of these this weekend and will share soon…

 
Fall leaves + wooden frames = amazing fall wall/shelf art.

bhg.com

 
Love how the red and orange throw pillows warm this room. I usually can find these colors in the fabric sale bins at JoAnn’s for super cheap!

bhg.com

 
Even if your normal decor is neutral, look how powerful adding a pop of fall color can be. LOVE!

bhg.com

 
How simple is this? A felt leaf cutout on a plain fabric.

bhg.com

 
This is one of the projects I’m starting this weekend. Great way to utilize all of your scrap fabric!

cluckclucksew.com

 
Stenciled leaves on a table runner! What a fabulous idea. BTW, if you’re looking for a good table runner for this project, try Home Goods. They have an awesome selection and most are under $15!

bhg.com

 
Easy peasy lemon squeezy center piece.

bhg.com

 
Don’t mums just scream fall?

bhg.com

 
But I still have a sweet spot for yellow mums, especially when they are paired with orange pumpkins. My front porch rocks the combo every fall 🙂

So what do you love most about fall?

Entry filed under: Décor.

When in Rome… Bonus Room Reno – Week 1

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan Jinnette  |  October 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    I learned a really cool applique trick at the quilt show – Remind me to tell you about the quilt show – I went by myself and had a blast

    Reply
    • 2. jamiecd  |  October 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      You went by yourself? Sooooo sorry I couldn’t go with you!!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Welcome to Sweetnest! My name is Jamie and I'm on a mission to make my life and home a bit sweeter, one DIY project at a time.

 

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts